Skip to content

Bookcase Organization

March 2, 2010

I love books: not only reading them, but being surrounded by them. I think growing up in a house with built-in shelves filled from floor to ceiling with books is why they feel like home to me.

Jamie, over at I Suwannee (a blog I read every day through my Google Reader subscription) frequently posts pictures of beautiful bookcases. Her posts inspired me to finally organize the big Ikea bookcase that lives in our dining room.

I forgot to take a “before” picture, so you’ll have to imagine a shelf jam-packed with stuff with absolutely no rhyme, reason, or regard for style.

Cumbie helped me pull everything off the shelves, dust the shelves and the stuff (which it had all apparently been needing for quite some time), and then organize the books by color and size. Then we filled each cube section until we liked the overall look. Otis even got his own little cube. I like that not every section holds books so we have plenty of room for more!

What do you think? Do you love bookcases too?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 2, 2010 1:00 pm

    I spy succulents!

  2. March 2, 2010 11:16 pm

    Your bookshelf looks wonderful! I would love to have one like that… but I would need help making it look as nice as yours!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment last week!

    Meg

  3. haley permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:40 pm

    Looks great! That bookcase is on my Ikea wishlist. Books are taking over! I just can’t get rid of them… or stop acquiring them! So I’m trading in my china cabinet for more book space. Will have to get your professional home blogger advice when I start arranging!

  4. haley permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:42 pm

    Oh, and I love the Otis square!!!

  5. amy permalink
    March 6, 2010 9:17 pm

    Spotted you via i suwannee – and I LOVE this!!!

  6. March 7, 2010 5:41 pm

    I am inspired. Is this the expedit? Do you really have to use the “enclosed anti-topple device”??

    Came here from i suwannee too!

    • March 8, 2010 9:51 pm

      Thanks, y’all!

      Amy & Kayna– welcome! :)

      Yes, that’s the Expedit from Ikea. We didn’t use the anti-topple device (which attaches it to the wall, if I remember correctly). Our floor must be level enough and our books heavy enough to keep it feeling very sturdy. People with kids should probably use it, though, because this shelf just begs to be climbed! Haha.

  7. May 7, 2010 7:31 am

    This bookcase is very nice and mass storage .
    :)

  8. Helen permalink
    October 7, 2011 5:38 pm

    it looks great i love baskets on bookcases im working on mine at the moment

Trackbacks

  1. More Beautiful Bookshelves « Life Is Art Is Life
  2. Double To-Do Lists, Organized Bookshelves, and Clock-Free Timing | 2ndPOWER
  3. Double To-Do Lists, Organized Bookshelves, and Clock-Free Timing « Music RSS
  4. From The Tips Box: Double To-Do Lists, Organised Bookshelves | Lifehacker Australia
  5. Double To-Do Lists, Organized Bookshelves, and Clock-Free Timing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

